You are here

Did You Know? Vinegar Choices

by Alexandra Anca, MHSc, RD

The majority of rice vinegars are distilled and gluten-free. However, a small number of examples have revealed labeling inaccuracies in products made in Asia (China, Hong Kong, Korea). Some of you will find rice vinegar bottles listing wheat as an ingredient or “rice vinegar (wheat).” Wheat may be a used in the fermentation process of the bacterial cultures used to make the vinegar. However, the risk of gluten being present in the vinegar is very small. When the vinegar is distilled, the product is gluten-free regardless of the source or gluten-containing ingredients that may be used in the fermentation process.