You are here

Ingredients

Can Celiacs Eat Whole Grains?

by Donna Washburn, PHEc and Heather Butt, PHEc

Can Celiacs Eat Whole Grains?Gluten-intolerant people can eat whole grains. A large number of GF whole-grain choices are available. The following, when eaten in a form that includes the bran, germ and endosperm, are examples of generally accepted GF whole-grain foods:• amaranth • buckwheat • corn, i...

Read this article >>

Handling Gluten-Free Flours and Starches

by Donna Washburn, PHEc and Heather Butt, PHEc

• Purchase flours and starches from reliable sources for consistent quality and to ensure that there is no risk from cross-contamination. Once you succeed with a particular product, either brand or quality, stick with it.• Store flours and starches in plastic containers rather than the bags they are...

Read this article >>

Did You Know? Vinegar Choices

by Alexandra Anca, MHSc, RD

The majority of rice vinegars are distilled and gluten-free. However, a small number of examples have revealed labeling inaccuracies in products made in Asia (China, Hong Kong, Korea). Some of you will find rice vinegar bottles listing wheat as an ingredient or “rice vinegar (wheat).” Wheat may be a...

Read this article >>

Suggestions for Including Whole Grains in Your GF Diet

By Donna Washburn, PHEc and Heather Butt, PHEc

Eat a variety of whole grains, such as teff, brown rice, quinoa, wild rice and pure, uncontaminated oats.•      Bake whole-grain breads using a combination of whole grains.•      Choose whole-grain flours to bake muffins, breads and desserts.•      Add whole grains such as millet grain and amaranth...

Read this article >>

The "A" List of Foods to Avoid

By Alexandra Anca, MHSc, RD

“A” list Print out and keep a copy of this “A” list of foods to avoid in your pocket when you go shopping for gluten-free foods and ingredients: •            Wheat•            Barley•            Rye•            Triticale (a cross between wheat and rye) •            Spelt (early coarse wheat)•       ...

Read this article >>

Gluten-Proofing the Kitchen

Once you have been diagnosed with celiac disease or gluten sensitivity, you will need to prevent gluten contamination of gluten-free foods. Here is a guide to gluten-proofing your kitchen: Pantry1.  Clean out your pantry cupboard and divide the foods you have into two groups:Keepers: Foods that are...

Read this article >>

Gluten-Free Shopping List

Celiac disease or not, here are some rules of thumb for healthy shopping:1.   Buy fresh food! 2.   Always shop the perimeter of the store first. 3.   Shop with a list. 4.   Speak up at the deli counter. Be proactive and ensure that the brands of deli meats you choose are gluten-free.5.   Do not shop...

Read this article >>